Umbrella organisations for national minorities

Representatives of more than one hundred nations live in Estonia. The nationality of the majority of the people living in the Republic of Estonia is Estonian. People of other nationalities belong to different national minorities. Russians form the biggest national minority within the territory of Estonia.

In order to maintain the peculiarities of their culture and nation (customs and traditions, language), people from the same nation join and form national culture associations in Estonia.

While in 1989 there were 22 national culture associations registered in Estonia, then today there are over 300. Most of the organisations have joined under umbrella organisations. You can view more about umbrella organisations and their members here.