Local government (LG)

The territory of Estonia is divided into counties, rural municipalities and towns. There are 15 counties and 215 local governments in Estonia: 30 towns and 185 rural municipalities. The county governor is a state representative in the county. Rural municipalities and towns are self-governing administrative units based on the principle of community, and they form the primary level of the public administration system. Each self-governing unit is part of a county; they may be members of a regional and nationwide local government association. As of 1993, a one-tier local government system is valid in Estonia.