Administrative division

The territory of Estonia is divided into counties, rural municipalities, and towns. There are 15 counties and 215 local governments in Estonia: 30 towns and 185 rural municipalities. Local government has the right to handle all local life issues.

The local government’s representative body is the council, which is elected in free elections for a term of four years. The council has the right to decide on issues belonging to any local government’s jurisdiction, within the law and in the interests of local people. The local government has an independent budget and the right to establish and collect taxes.

The state and local government are in a territorial relationship because the local government is settled within the state territory’s administrative distribution. The Territory of Estonia Administrative Division Act establishes the principles and procedures for changing Estonia’s administrative-territorial organisation.

Map of Estonia’s territory’s administrative and settlement division