Estonian state and country

The current territory of Estonia has been reportedly inhabited for 11,000 years.

The Republic of Estonia is situated in Northern Europe. Estonia is bordered to the north, across the Gulf of Finland, by the Republic of Finland, to the west, across the Baltic Sea, by the Kingdom of Sweden, to the south by the Republic of Latvia, and to the east by the Russian Federation. In the more distant past, the territory of today’s Republic of Estonia was a part of the territory of Livonia and belonged, either in part or in full, to Denmark, Sweden, Germany, and Russia.

Currently, Estonia is a democratic parliamentary republic. Estonia has one of the smallest populations among European Union Member States. Estonia’s valid currency is the Euro.