Estonia and the European Union

On 1 May 2004, the Republic of Estonia became a Member State of the European Union.

The European Union is an economic and political union, mainly involving European countries and consisting of 28 Member States. The European Union has elements of both intergovernmental and transnational organisations.

The harmonised legislation of European Union countries must ensure the free movement of citizens, goods, services, and capital across the European Union. Eighteen Member States have adopted the single currency, the euro.